MINUTES OF ISPNS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING dt 9 February, 2019, 2pm Board room 1, 1st floor, Hotel Green Park, Chennai.

The meeting was chaired by Dr K Sridhar, President of ISPNS.

Meeting was attended - – Incoming President – Dr Ketan Desai Secretary-Dr Sumit Sinha Treasurer – Dr Sachin Borkar Editor – Dr P S Bhandari EC members- Dr Sanjay Maurya, Dr Rajeev Sharma, Dr Dattaraj Sawarkar, Dr Durga Kalki and a special invitee in Founder president -Prof A K Mahapatra.

Dr K Sridhar welcomed all the members for the meeting and opened the meeting to forum.

The following agenda were discussed-

 Treasurer report- Dr Sachin Borkar, Treasurer presented the Treasurer's report for 1 April 2018 to 8 February, 2019. The audited account of the last financial year was submitted to EC. There were 3 new LIFE members added during this period which took the strength of the society to 175.

The society started with an account balance of 1,82,884 INR. Account balance after all the expenses including secretarial staff salaries, journal funding support, CA fees is presently 32,099 INR.

- 2) The EC discussed various ways by which the society corpus can be increased. Dr K Sridhar has informed EC that 38 new life members have been added during the current meeting, which will increase strength of the society to 213. This has raised Rs 154,000 (37 X 4000 + 1 X 6000) as life membership fees for the society, and this amount (Rs 154000) has been handed over to the Secretary by cheque. The applicable GST of Rs 27,720 will be paid by the Organizing committee to GST Council.
- 3) Dr K Sridhar, the organizing chairman of ISPNS 2019 has promised to submit the audited accounts of ISPNS 2019 within 3 months and promised to contribute the

balance amount to ISPNS society after clearing the expenses and after the audit is over.

4) Organizing committee report- There were 162 registrations for ISPNS 2019 which was very well appreciated and the EC congratulated Dr K Sridhar and team for their hard work and sincere efforts for this successful meeting.

Six cases were successfully operatedduring the live workshop. The total number of lectures in the meeting were 58 (including 8 videos). There were a total of 40 invited speakers. A total of 10 CME credit hours have been allotted to this conference.

- 5) Prof Sumit Sinha, Secretary informed that the Spanish society of peripheral nerve surgery (Dr Alex Mozart) had approached ISPNS for reciprocal academic collaboration with their society in various annual meetings and academic activities. Similarly, collaboration with other foreign societies like European society, Pan Arab society, and WFNS-peripheral nerve section was discussed in EC. EC agreed unanimously that the reciprocal collaboration should be encouraged for growth of the society.
- 6) Editor report- Dr P S Bhandari presented the editor's report for the JOURNAL OF PERIPHERAL NERVE SURGERY. Till now, two issues per year are planned to be published. However, due to financial crunch; only one issue could be published in 2018. Till now, the society was partially funding the journal publication. However, the EC has now decided that the editor should be primarily responsible for generating funds for biannual journal publication.
- 7) Nomination of Editor- Dr P S Bhandari's term as editor has ended now. The EC thanked him for his sincere efforts in journal publication. EC unanimously nominated Prof Deepak Agrawal, Neurosurgery, AIIMS, New Delhi as EDITOR from now on. He has been entrusted with the responsibility to choose his editorial team.
- 8) Various EC members suggested ways to reduce expenses by making journal online without printing hard copies. However, this saving is very insignificant. So, EC agreed to continue to continue the current hard copy publication.
- 9) Nomination of president elect fty 2019-2020- The EC unanimously nominated Dr MUKUND THATTE, Mumbai as the PRESIDENT ELECT FOR 2019-20. He will take over as PRESIDENT from DR KETAN DESAI in 2020.

2

- 10) Venue of ISPNS 2020- The next ISPNS meeting will be held in Coimbatore on 21-23 february 2020 under the chairmanship of Dr Raja Sabapathy.
- 11) The 2021 meeting has been awarded to Deptt of Neurosurgery , AIIMS Bhubaneshwar. Dr Sumit Bansal, Assoc Prof Neurosurgery will be the org secretary under the chairmanship of Prof A K Mahaptra.
- 12) **ISPNS fellowship** Dr Sumit Sinha informed about the funding by J & J for ISPNS fellowship in Peripheral nerve surgery. Dr Sumit Sinha has requested EC members if they wish to recruit fellows at their center, they can apply to ISPNS and after proper screening and approval by the scientific committee of ISPNS, they will be funded by ISPNS through the J&J grant; for a single fellow for a short-term fellowship of one month. The ISPNS will pay a stipend of 30,000 INR to the chosen fellow.
- 13) It has been decided by EC that now-onwards, Prof AK Banerjee oration and its financial commitments has to be borne by the organisers of the annual meeting.
- 14) EC unanimously decided that the life membership amount generated will be kept as a separate corpus of the society and will not be spent for managing day to day affairs of ISPNS.
- 15) The EC thanked Dr K Sridhar and his team , Dr Jayakumar , Dr Rohini ,Dr. Ibrahim among others for an excellent 2019 meeting . Their efforts right from planning, registration and hospitality was well appreciated. They have raised the bar high for subsequent ISPNS meeting.
- 16) The meeting ended with thanks to the Chair.