MOM of extraordinary ISPNS EC meeting held on 12 Dec 2023 on google meet at 8pm

The following EC members attended the meeting:

Dr B Indiradevi, President, ISPNS

Dr Deepak Agrawal, Secretary, ISPNS

Dr Rajeev Sharma, Treasurer, ISPNS

Dr Ibrahim, EC Member

Dr Kuntal Das, EC Member

Dr Hitesh Gujjar, EC Member

Dr Sumit Bansal, EC Member

Dr Raja Tiwari, EC Member

Dr Krishnan, EC Member

Dr Anil Sharma (local organising secretary-ISPNS 2024), special invitee

- 1. Dr Deepak appraised the members that the scientific schedule drafted for the upcoming annual conference had various sessions and symposium named after senior neurosurgeons and plastic surgeons without EC concurrence and hence this was being put forward to EC for concurrence.
- 2. Also, Dr Sumit Sinha had proposed to honour Prof VS Mehta with lifetime achievement award during the conference and hence EC concurrence was required.
- 3. Thirdly, Prof AK Mahapatra had requested to have a oration named after him and sent a formal letter to this effect (previously circulated to all EC members) and concurrence was required on this
- 4. The above matters was extensively discussed and the following points were unanimously finalised:
 - a. As the contenders for having symposium/ sessions and orations named after them are many, and to ensure transparency and objectivity, it was agreed that eligibility criteria should be drafted urgently for deciding who is eligible. Those qualifying will be vetted by EC and will require simple majority in EC for qualifying the same. Dr Rajeev will draft the criteria and circulate to all EC members within 48 hours so that decision on pending names can be taken within this month.
 - b. All contenders who clear point a above will be asked to deposit Rs 2 lakhs (one time symposia/session named after him/her, Rs 5 lakhs (life

time symposium/or session named after him/her), or Rs 10 lakhs(oration named after him/her)

- c. For named symposium/session, there will be a 5 minute introduction of the person and he/she will be invited to chair the session/symposium. Also, society will not bear travel/ other expenses for the named persons to attend the conference. However, local organisers are at liberty to host them if they want.
- d. For oration(s), as there is no clarity in current constitution, rules will be drafted for expenses to be borne by society for invited faculty. This will be done before the annual conference so that they can be ratified in GBM.
- e. The presidential oration will be renamed to honour any individual the elected president desires and this will be without any cost to society.
- f. Dr Ak Banerjee oration has been going on without any financial gain to the society. As the orator has already been decided by local organising secretary for ISPNS 2024, it will be allowed this time. However, no further 'AK Banerjee oration' will be allowed till payment of Rs 10 lakhs is made to society account (by whoever is interested in continuing this oration)
- g. It was also decided that the constitution should be amended to reflect the above decisions, and this will be bought to the GBM in the upcoming annual meeting for the same.
- h. Prof VS Mehta was unanimously approved for life-time achievement award.
- i. Prof AK Mahapatra's proposal was unanimously approved for naming an oration/symposium after him, pending payment of the requisite charges.
- 5. Dr Rajeev (treasurer) apprised the members regarding applying for 80G exemption certificate. This was approved for urgent action.

The meeting came to an end with thanks to the all members for taking time out to attend the EC meeting